Online dating, Yup

I never thought in a million years that I would be joining the millions in online dating. At first, I thought that it was for the crazy, desperate and lonely. Now, I know that my judgments were dead wrong… well half way wrong.  More and more of my friends are using popular online dating sites to find love, so I’m gave it a try too.

So on goes the makeup and finding the perfect lighting to take the PERFECT picture.  My whole goal was to  take a cute and a little sexy pic.  Dammit, I wanted all good angles lol!  After what felt like a week of taking pictures, I uploaded three that made the cut,  answered a few questions and waited a few seconds for my matches.  Then I see this…

funny profiles.If I would’ve known this… I wouldn’t have tried so very hard lol.

I find it funny that women put so much effort into having the perfect picture to attract a cute guy online. While, on the other hand, guys don’t take the same effort, or at least for the majority of the pictures I’ve seen online it didn’t seem like it.  Guys put up random pictures, like a whole group wedding photo, and you have no idea who’s trying to get a date (well atleast you know it’s not the groom.)  I saw almost a million pet pictures, which left me thinking who the hell signed up for the account the dog or him?

Either way, I had a very fun time looking at the profiles and getting messages back. I learned that I’ve got no flirting skills via the internet. How are you doing?=boring. How are you doing :)=inviting.  The thirst is REAL on dating sites. I’ve been messaged whole Word documents from guys describing  their  qualities, which is either they’ve  got a job or no kids.

After cutting through all the funny and scary. I had a really go convo with a funny guy from Philly, which made everything worth it. More deets on that and my mishaps la-tah.

Until next time 🙂

5 comments

  1. This just made me chuckle…especially the picture and the part about not knowing if it was the dog or the guy that is looking for a date. I tried online dating a few years ago for a short amount of time – I remember all too well how intimidating it seemed at first, putting hours of work into writing a great profile and including nice shots. And then logging in to get “winked” at – that’s it. It took me a few weeks before I even figured out how the heck I was suppose to reply back to a virtual “wink”…. mostly I just didn’t respond since that was the easiest route. I went back to meeting guys “organically” the old-fashioned way but that’s had its challenges too. Good luck with the guy and I hope you have a great first date (make sure you meet in a public place!) 🙂

    1. Hey Cherise! I totally understand how you feel about online dating being intimidating. Before uploading my profile, I just thought that everything about my photo and profile had to be perfect. After seeing those pictures I mentioned in the post; I relaxed a whole lot. I’m testing out online dating because I’m pretty busy and this was the best way to fit dating into my schedule. When everything smooths out a bit I’ll do both organic and online dating… see what happens.

  2. I LOVE – ‘The thirst is real’ on the dating sites. I have not ventured on to any, but I do have a very good friend who is dating a guy she met online and they seem to be hitting it off really well. That picture is hilarious too! Stopping my from FBF with Chasing Joy!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Tiffany! The thirst hit me before anything else lol. I’m still getting the hang of replying and the searching part, but it’s fun. I would say just check it out if you have a chance.

Leave a Reply

