Our First Date…

Hello!

So remember the southern gentlemen that I told you about? After our second Skype date he asked me out on a real date. I was so excited because everything was going pretty well, so I really wanted to meet him.

Picking our first date location was when I started to see more of his true colors. He wanted our FIRST date to be at the Kanye West concert… ah no!  Now I thought this wasn’t the best idea because obviously we wouldn’t be able to communicate to each other, while dance around to Yeeuz. So, I thought that going to the museum would be a great first date, especially since he’s new to the city. Now even though I didn’t like the concert idea, I gave him the respect to just say no. He didn’t even give my idea a chance, stating “museums are corny” (strike one).  I felt the way that he shot down my date idea was disrespectful and lacked taste, especially when his idea was a freakin’ concert.

So, I decided to let that comment roll off my shoulders, and we both agreed to meet  Saturday at  Maggiano’s.  Notice what’s missing from the equation… the TIME.  I suggested we meet for lunch around 1pm,   He’s response was “oh, you’re not spontaneous are you? Does everything have to be planned out?”. I said, “Yes!” He thought 1pm was too early because the weekend is his only time to sleep in, so instead of suggesting a different time, he wanted to play it by ear to when HE woke up (strike two).  He finally agreed to the  1pm time.  Now, even though all of these little signs were pop rockin’ in my face, I still decided to go on the date.

So it’s date time! I’m put on a cute outfit, makeup and hair was cute. I went over all the dating tips you guys give me (Yes, I was listening).  The tip that stuck with me the most was listening to my gut.   Mr. Southern Gentlemen arrived to the restaurant an half hour before I did. I get to the restaurant and couldn’t find him. I checked in with the hostess to see if he grabbed  a table, but he didn’t check in.  I go into the restaurant looking for him… and it turns out his at the damn bar.

What I failed to tell you guys about Mr. Southern Gentlemen is that he likes to drink… hard beverages( alcohol) . He would tell me about his adventures in drinking while on Skype.   He thought that drinking would’ve been a part of his career, just in case you were wondering– it’s NOT.  So when he hugged me from behind smelling like beer and wearing a grey hoodie,  I knew that this wouldn’t go any further.

We were ushered to our seats. We’re sitting in a huge booth that could seat about 8 people, so  instead of sitting across from each other, we’re sitting next to each other, which made talking really weird. But, the first thing that he does when we sit down is look at me like this

drunk face

I’m like damn homie, really. He claimed that he only had one beer. Yeah right. As the date goes on, my dislikes for him increases.  I found him to be extremely annoying.  He tells me that LOVE isn’t a necessity and that no man in their twenties is looking for love because they’re focused on their careers, so since my hands were washed of this dating situation… I gave not a damn care.

When the waiter asked if we wanted a dessert menu, Mr. Southern Gentlemen screamed “Noooo!” because he thought the prices at the restaurant were too high, even though he agreed on the restaurant! So the last part of our date was to walk around the city of Brotherly Love. He had to go to the bathroom and wanted me to wait for him outside of the restroom. I told him that I would wait for him outside. While he walked to the bathroom, I was walking to the sub.

What I learned from this date gone hella wrong:

1. The writing is on the wall, dammit read it!- I had millions of signs that showed me  that he was selfish, careless and not the right match for me, but I decided to not pay attention to them.

3. An Ace and a Queen aren’t a match- I was really trying to make our differences match, but I couldn’t, and dating shouldn’t be work, it should be fun!

Tell me how you feel in the comment section.

-MMems

10 comments

  1. Well, if nothing else, it made for a good post! lol I am sorry about the poor experience you had, but I agree wholeheartedly with lesson learned #1 – when you see a red flag, don’t try and say you see a shooting star. Call it how you see it. I hope that this experience will be counted as just that and not discourage you in your pursuit! Thanks for sharing

    1. Yes, this date will be counted as an experience. I was really looking at some shooting stars lol. I’ve learned something from this date and will apply it in the future. Thanks for the comment :).

  2. WOW. This was certainly one heck of a first date lol. I commend you for putting yourself out there and going on the date – I think it’s totally okay that you went through with it as long as you didn’t expect him to “sweep you off your feet” after seeing all his red flags. From the sounds of it this guy doesn’t even know where to find a broom to sweep. Believe it or not, collecting bad dating stories will make you so much more relatable with your other single gal friends…I feel like bad dates are a part of the initiation process of the single gal’s life 🙂 Plus I’m great at dishing out the advice but it takes me many lessons before my own “gut” lessons sink in – so be patient with yourself – you will learn with time what you are comfortable with and not. Just be thankful you were able to get out from the date when you did – smart move on leaving while he was in the bathroom!

    1. I’m happy that something good came from the date ( blog story and support from friends). I thought that his behavior would’ve changed for the date, and it didn’t . I just have to be in reality when I’m dating and not give someone who isn’t deserving so many chances. Thanks Cherise for stopping bye.

  3. Oh no! This date did suck. But on the bright side I know your food at Maggiano’s was good even though you did not get to have dessert. I give you big points for leaving him in the bathroom. Have you heard from him since???

    Better luck on your next date.

  4. Bahahahahahaahaha. I wonder what his face looked like when he walked out of the bathroom. He probably had the “You got Served” face. A 90 percent salty and 10 percent pissed. He deserved it. At least it was an experience. Next time, find out what the guy is wearing so you can scope him out before you officially meet him.

    1. Hey Ebb! Thanks a really good idea about telling each other what we’re wearing. Yes this was an experience, and the more that I read the post the funnier it gets. Ha the enjoy of being single and dating.

Leave a Reply

