Affirming Me

Ok, so last week was a trying one, but I’m happy to say that I made it through. How did I do it, you ask? Affirmations.  I have always dealt with having low self-esteem. I was a bigger kid when growing up and really wanted to be liked by others, so I’ve dealt with being bullied and teased. Sadly, that behavior hasn’t stopped much into adulthood because even adults can be cruel.  This year’s word is Time, and I’ve really been thinking about how long will I care, I mean really care, about what other people think of me? I decided to start using affirmations as a way to counteract my negative self-thoughts. .

Taking two minutes for myself every day to say out loud that I’m pretty, smart and can do anything I put my mind to, has really helped me.  If I hear something that would normally tear away at my self-esteem. I remember my affirmations.  Now I’m beginning to know longer BELIEVE those negative statements from past experiences that were imprinted in to my subconscious and re-played in my mind. I’m finally learning that it does not matter what other people think of me. What really matters is how I think and feel about myself because that is the only way that I’m going to truly love ME.

If you’re dealing with a tough situation or want to become more positive try using affirmations.

Here are the rules.

  1. The statement must be written/ said in the present tense and with feeling.
  2. Repeat your affirmations morning and night-Repetition is key!

 

Here’s a good video about how to build self-esteem.

 

 

 

I’m thinking about starting an affirmation challenge. Tell me what you think in the comments below.

-MMEm’s

5 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing your battle with self-esteem. You are very brave to be so open and honest. I don’t think my self esteem is low, but it is definitely where I want it to be. I also struggle some with what others think of me. My theme for this year is Confidence. This post and especially the video is right on time for me.

    Please do the affirmation challenge! Maybe we can do it together on both blogs. Let me know how I can help.

    1. Two good ideas combined affirmation challenge and actually buying a mirror for my room. Yea I’ll definitely connect with you about the challenge. This time I won’t give up on believing my self-esteem.

Leave a Reply

